

Council

Monday, 7 July 2024

Subject: Appointment of Members to the Committees for the remainder of the 2025/26 Civic Year

Report by:	Monitoring Officer
Contact Officer:	Katie Storr Democratic Services & Elections Team Manager katie.storr@west-lindsey.gov.uk
Purpose / Summary:	This report sets out the wishes expressed by political groups in respect of the appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the Council for civic year 2025/2026 as result of the allocations having been amended under Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

(1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve on the Council's Committees for the remainder of the 2025/2026 civic year as set out within this report or provided verbally at the meeting.

IMPLICATIONS

Legal:

In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial:

None directly arising from this report

Staffing:

None directly arising from this report

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights:

None directly arising from this report

Data Protection Implications:

None directly arising from this report

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities:

None directly arising from this report

Section 17 Crime and Disorder Considerations:

None directly arising from this report

Health Implications:

None directly arising from this report

Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report:

Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places – documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Risk Assessment:

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14.7 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes	No	
Key Decision:			
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes	No	

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groups.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (11 Members)

Councillor O Bierley	
Councillor J Brockway	
Councillor P Key	
Councillor P Morris	
Councillor J McGhee	
Councillor M Palmer	
Councillor L Rollings	
Councillor T Young	
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (11 Members)

Councillor O Bierley	
Councillor M Boles	
Councillor S Bunney	
Councillor I Fleetwood	
Councillor P Key	
Councillor J McGhee	
Councillor R Patterson	
Councillor T Smith	
Councillor P Swift	
Councillor T Young	
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)

2.3 **Governance and Audit Committee (6 Members)**

Councillor John Barrett Councillor J Brockway *** Councillor S Bunney Councillor D Dobbie Councillor A Lawrence Councillor B Velan

2.4 Licensing Committee (13 Members)

Councillor J Barrett Councillor E Bennett Councillor K Carless Councillor L Clews Councillor D Dobbie Councillor P Key Councillor P Key Councillor P Lee Councillor M Palmer Councillor Mrs D Rodgers Councillor T Smith Councillor B Velan Councillor(Lib Dem Group) Councillor(Lib Dem Group)

2.5 Regulatory Committee (13 Members)

Councillor J Barrett
Councillor E Bennett
Councillor K Carless
Councillor L Clews
Councillor D Dobbie
Councillor P Key
Councillor P Lee
Councillor M Palmer
Councillor Mrs D Rodgers
Councillor T Smith
Councillor B Velan
Councillor(Lib Dem Group)
Councillor (Lib Dem Group)

2.6 Planning Committee (11 Members)

Councillor J Barrett
Councillor O Bierley
Councillor M Boles
Councillor K Carless
Councillor D Dobbie
Councillor I Fleetwood
Councillor R Patterson
Councillor T Smith
Councillor P Swift
Councillor (Lib Dem Group)
Councillor (Lib Dem Group)

2.7 **Prosperous Communities Committee (11 Members)**

Councillor O Bierley	
Councillor F Brown	
Councillor S Bunney	
Councillor C Darcel	
Councillor P Lee	
Councillor J McGhee	
Councillor L Mullally	
Councillor R Patterson	
Councillor L Rollings	
Councillor T Young	
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)

2.8 **Overview and Scrutiny Committee (13 members)**

Councillor J Barrett	
Councillor T Bridgwood	
Councillor F Brown	
Councillor L Clews	
Councillor C Darcel	
Councillor P Howitt-Cowan	
Councillor P Morris	
Councillor L Mullally	
Councillor M Palmer	
Councillor R Pilgrim	
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)

2.9 Standards Committee (6 Members)

Councillor J Brockway	
Councillor Mrs D Rodgers	
Councillor T Bridgwood	
Councillor L Rollings	
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)
Councillor	(Lib Dem Group)